

## Honorary Fellows: call for nominations

In the *Gazette* Vol. 33 No. 1, March 2006, pp. 69–70, the Rules for Honorary International Fellowship of the Australian Mathematical Society are listed. (See also http://www.austms. org.au/Publ/Gazette/2006/Mar06/austmsnews.pdf.)

In accordance with Rule 4(a) I hereby call for nominations. These should be sent electronically to secretary@austms.org.au before the end of June.

## **AustMS Accreditation**

The secretary has announced the accreditation of:

- Associate Professor Ian R. Doust of the University of New South Wales as an Accredited Fellow (FAustMS);
- Dr Andrew Mathas of the University of Sydney as an Accredited Fellow (FAustMS);
- Dr Adam Rennie of the University of Copenhagen as an Accredited Member (MAustMS).

# **Officers of Council**

Nominations are invited for the following Officers for the Session commencing after the Annual General Meeting to be held in September 2007:

### **One Vice-President and one President-Elect**

Note. According to Paragraph 34 (i) of the AustMS Constitution, after the AGM in September 2007, Professor P.G. Hall will continue in office as the President, and Professor M.G. Cowling steps down as Immediate-Past-President, and is not eligible for immediate re-election as a Vice-President.

According to Paragraph 34 (ii), Professor N. Joshi steps down as Elected Vice-President, and is not eligible for immediate re-election to that office.

According to Paragraph 34 (iii), the positions of Secretary and Treasurer will be appointed by Council at its September 2007 meeting.

The present Officers of the Society are:

President: P.G. Hall Vice-President: N. Joshi Treasurer: A. Howe Immediate-Past-President: M.G. Cowling Secretary: E.J. Billington

#### AustMS

# Ordinary Members of Council

The present elected Ordinary Members of Council are:

- Members whose term of office expires in mid-2007 J. Denier; P. Trotter
- (2) Members whose term of office expires in mid-2008P. Cerone; L. Jennings; A.J. van der Poorten
- (3) Members whose term of office expires in mid-2009
  - A. Hassell; G. Prince; H.B. Thompson

Accordingly, nominations are invited for two positions as Ordinary Members of Council, who shall be elected for a term of three consecutive sessions. Note that according to Paragraph 34(iv) of the Constitution, J. Denier and P. Trotter are not eligible for re-election at this time as Ordinary Members. Paragraph 35 of the Constitution requires that the elected Officers and elected members of Council shall include residents from all the States and the ACT. Accordingly, nominations for the two Officers and two Ordinary Members must include members from Tasmania and from South Australia.

To comply with the Constitution (see Paragraphs 61 and 64), all nominations should be signed by two members of the Society and by the nominee who shall also be a Member of the Society.

Nominations should reach the Secretary (whose name and address appear inside the back cover of the *Gazette*) no later than Friday 22 June 2007.

For the information of members, the following persons are presently ex-officio members of Council for the Session 2006–2007.

Vice President (Chair of ANZIAM):	P.G. Taylor
Vice President (Annual Conferences):	M. Varghese
Representative of ANZIAM:	W. Summerfield
Public Officer of AustMS and AMPAI:	P.J. Cossey
Chair, Standing Committee on Mathematics Education:	F. Barrington
AustMS member elected to Steering Committee:	J.H. Rubinstein

Editors: B. Loch/R.G. Thomas (Gazette)
A.S. Jones (Bulletin)
R. Moore (Electronic Site)
M.G. Cowling (Journal of AustMS)
M.K. Murray (Lecture Series)
C.E.M. Pearce (ANZIAM Journal)
A.J. Roberts (ANZIAM Journal Supplement)

The Constitution is available from the Society's web pages, at http://www.austms.org.au/AMSInfo/Const/amsconst.html

Elizabeth J. Billington AustMS Secretary