## Australian Mathematical Society Lift-off Fellowships

The Australian Mathematical Society Lift-off Fellowships were announced in the May 2010 issue of the *Gazette*. As of the start of October 2010, three fellowships have been awarded. The recipients are Michael Haythorpe (University of South Australia), Roslyn Hickson (Australian National University) and Judith Egan (Monash University).

Applications can be made at any time. The rules governing the approval of fellowships and application instructions can be found at http://www.austms.org.au/ Lift-off.

## News from the Annual General Meeting

AustMS

The Society's 54th Annual Meeting was held recently at the University of Queensland. The Director, Professor Ole Warnaar, his team of local organisers and the Program Committee, led by Ruibin Zhang, the Vice-President (Annual Conferences), were responsible for a very successful conference with an outstanding range of talks.

The following matters from the meeting are provided here for the information of those who could not attend. The draft minutes of the AGM will be placed in the members' section of the Society's website; this may already be accessible to members via a secure log-in when this issue of the *Gazette* appears.

- (1) Council has conferred Honorary Membership of the Society on the following members:
  - Professor A.J. van der Poorten AM, FAustMS in recognition of his outstanding work for the Society and for mathematics in Australia. The Society was saddened by the subsequent untimely death of Professor van der Poorten
  - Dr R.S. Anderssen OAM, FAustMS, in recognition of his outstanding work for the Society and for mathematics in Australia
  - Dr A.S. Jones FAustMS, in recognition of his outstanding past service as Editor of the *Bulletin*
  - Professor C.F. Miller III, in recognition of his outstanding past service as Editor of the *Journal*
  - Professor I.H. Sloan AO, FAA, FAustMS, in recognition of his outstanding work for the Society and for mathematics in Australia
  - Professor N.S. Trudinger FRS, FAA, FAustMS, in recognition of his outstanding work for the Society and for mathematics in Australia.

- (2) The Australian Mathematical Society Medal for 2010 was awarded to Professor Kate Smith-Miles of Monash University.
- (3) The George Szekeres Medal for 2010 was awarded to Professor Peter Hall of the University of Melbourne.
- (4) The 2010 B.H. Neumann Prize was awarded to Anita Ponsaing of the University of Melbourne for her talk entitled 'Separation of variables for the symplectic character using Sklyanin's Q-operator approach'.

Five student talks were given honourable mentions. These were talks by Wendy Baratta (University of Melbourne), Ali Eshragh Jahromi (University of South Australia), Ivan Guo (University of Sydney), Tyson Ritter (University of Adelaide) and Roger Senior (Australian National University).

- (5) The Early Career Workshop, organised by Anthony Henderson, Bronwyn Hajek and Stephan Tillmann at Rydges Oasis Resort Caloundra from 25 to 26 September, was a great success. The workshop next year will be from 24 to 25 September at Sebel Harbourside, Kiama.
- (6) It was confirmed that the 55th Annual Meeting of the Society in 2011 will be held at the University of Wollongong from Monday 26 September to Thursday 29 September 2011, with Associate Professor D. Pask as Director.

It was provisionally determined that the 56th Annual Meeting of the Society will be held in the week starting 24 September 2012 at the University of New England, with Professor Y. Du as Director. However, it has subsequently emerged that the University of New England may be moving to a three-semester year in 2012 and there may be no teaching-free weeks near 24 September. Council has therefore asked the Vice-President (Annual Conferences), assisted by a working party, to explore possible options and report back to Council.

- (7) Council set an upper limit of \$400 for student grants to attend the 55th Annual Meeting of the Society. As in 2010, applications will need to be submitted to the Secretary at least two weeks before the start of the conference.
- (8) Council has established a working party to draft necessary constitutional changes to institute a category of non-voting student member and to report back to the January meeting of Steering Committee. As an interim measure, Council has resolved that all existing student members who are again students in 2011 will receive free membership next year. Council further decided that the working party should recommend other appropriate changes to the constitution, including methods of communication and voting. Following consideration by Steering Committee, proposed changes to the Constitution could be discussed at a forum of members before being put to a vote.
- (9) Council has supported in principle a proposal, developed by the Society's Standing Committee on Mathematics Education, to introduce accreditation as a Teaching Member of the Australian Mathematical Society. A detailed proposal is to be presented to the January meeting of Steering Committee.

## AustMS

(10) At the Annual General Meeting it was resolved that online receipt should become the default option for the *Gazette* for all individual members of the Society. As part of the membership renewal process for 2011, the Business Office will arrange for members to be able to express a preference to continue to receive hard copies.

Peter Stacey AustMS Secretary E-mail: P.Stacey@latrobe.edu.au



Peter Stacey joined La Trobe as a lecturer in 1975 and retired as an associate professor at the end of 2008 after many years as head of department and then associate dean. Retirement has enabled him to spend more time with his family while continuing with some research on C\*-algebras and some work on secondary school education. He took over as secretary of the Society at the start of 2010.

## 352