The Mahony-Neumann-Room Prize rules

- 1. The prize may be awarded annually to the author or authors of an article in the mathematical sciences published in the Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society, the Bulletin of the Australian Mathematical Society or the ANZIAM Journal.
- 2. The prize will be called the Mahony-Neumann-Room prize after the inaugural editors of the three journals, and will consist of a monetary reward decided annually by Council.
- 3. Each award will be for a single article consisting of original research, and published in the 6 calendar years preceding the year of the award.
- 4. The prize will cycle through the three journals over a three year period.
- 5. In the case of publications with multiple authors, the prize will be shared by all authors.
- 6. The Selection Committee may deem a publication ineligible if an author has previously received an award from the Australian Mathematical Society for a body of research which includes the publication in question.
- 7. The award will be decided by a Selection Committee appointed by the Council.
 - i. The Selection Committee will consist of three persons.
 - ii. The three people will usually be the editors of the three journals.
 - iii. In the case of multiple editors, the editors of each journal may nominate one as their representative for that year.
 - iv. The Chair of the Committee will be the editor of the journal for which that year's prize is to be awarded.
- 8. The Selection Committee may consult with appropriate external assessors and relevant associate editors as appropriate.

Established by Council in Resolution 117/6 [2014].