AustMS WIMSIG Cheryl E. Praeger Travel Awardees


CherylPraegerUWA-cropped.JPG Travelling for conferences and research visits is vital for an academic career. The AustMS WIMSIG Cheryl E. Praeger Travel Awards are designed to provide full or partial support for Australian female mathematicians to attend conferences or to visit collaborators, with approximately four Domestic Travel Awards and two International Travel Awards awarded annually. By having more women attend conferences, we also increase the size of the pool from which speakers at subsequent conferences may be drawn, and thus address the persistent problem of the scarcity of women speakers at some conferences.

The Awards are funded by the Australian Mathematical Society (AustMS) and are an initiative of the AustMS Women in Mathematics Special Interest Group (WIMSIG), which administers them. Awards are determined on a competitive basis by a selection committee of distinguished mathematicians, appointed by the Executive Committee of WIMSIG.

The Award rules and application forms can be found on the Cheryl E. Praeger Travel Awards page.


Prof Cheryl Praeger with some past recipients of AustMS WIMSIG Cheryl E. Praeger Travel Awards and Anne Penfold Street Awards — September 2017 (Photo Credit: Sia Duff)
L-R: Valentina Wheeler, Joan Licata, Barbara Maenhaut, Cheryl Praeger, Joanne Hall, Catherine Penington, Bronwyn Hajek

Awardees To Date







Updated: 18 May 2019